A bright future for you in Québec A bright future for you in Québec

Côte-Nord

Côte-Nord
Explore other regions

The Côte-Nord region, situated in the northeast of the province, is the second largest region in Québec. Over 50% of the population lives in the two equally important regional hubs—the cities of Sept-Îles and Baie-Comeau. Sept-Îles’ economic foundation is mining development and aluminum production while that of Baie-Comeau is primarily based on hydroelectric development, aluminum production and forestry processing.

Côte-Nord

Population : 91 546 inhabitants

Area : 236 664 km²

Cities : Sept-Îles, Baie-Comeau, Port-Cartier

Emerging economic sectors : Mines, hydroelectricity, agrifood, tourism


Economy and employment

Côte-Nord’s economic structure is based in large part on natural resource exploitation and, to a lesser extent, on processing. Mining, forestry, hydroelectric power generation, commercial hunting and fishing as well as aluminum processing are the region’s key economic activities.

The most promising professional opportunities are in the fields of natural and applied sciences as well as sales and services, transportation, business, finance and administration. The fastest growing jobs are those involving technical skills.

To learn more

Want to learn more?
Immigration, Diversité et Inclusion Québec Site map
  |  
Policy on privacy
  |  
Declaration of services to the public
© Gouvernement du Québec, 2018

Un bel Avenir pour vous au Québec Un bel Avenir pour vous au Québec

Côte-Nord

Côte-Nord
Explorer d'autres régions

La région de la Côte-Nord, située au nord-est de la province, est la deuxième plus vaste région du Québec. Plus de 50 % de la population vit dans les deux pôles régionaux d’importance équivalente que sont les villes de Sept-Îles et Baie-Comeau. Sept-Îles vit à l'heure du développement minier et de la fabrication de l’aluminium, alors que l’activité économique de Baie-Comeau repose principalement sur le développement hydroélectrique, la fabrication d’aluminium et la transformation de la forêt.

Côte-Nord

Population : 91 546 habitants

Superficie : 236 664 km²

Villes : Sept-Îles, Baie-Comeau, Port-Cartier

Secteurs économiques émergents : Mines, hydroélectricité, agroalimentaire, tourisme


Économie et emploi

La structure économique de la Côte-Nord repose en grande partie sur l’exploitation et, dans une moindre mesure, sur la transformation de ses ressources naturelles. Les mines, la forêt, l’énergie hydroélectrique, l’exploitation des ressources fauniques et halieutiques ainsi que la transformation de l’aluminium constituent les principales activités économiques de la région.

Les meilleures perspectives professionnelles se situent dans les emplois liés aux domaines des sciences naturelles et appliquées ainsi qu'aux domaines de la vente et des services, du transport, des affaires, de la finance et de l'administration. Les emplois de niveau de compétence technique affichent la plus forte croissance.

Pour en savoir plus

Envie d'en savoir plus?