A bright future for you in Québec A bright future for you in Québec

Mauricie

Mauricie
Explore other regions

Recognized as the “heart of Québec,” the Mauricie region is located halfway between Montréal, the metropolis, and Québec City, the national capital. Mauricie features vast and countless expanses of water (17 000 lakes) that occupy a major place in the region’s economic and recreational tourism development.

Photograph: Tourisme Mauricie, Concours Focus sur la Mauricie 2009 - Andrea Bertolo, 30 rue Radisson

Mauricie

Population : 269 289 inhabitants

Area : 35 448 km²

Cities : Trois-Rivières, Shawinigan, La Tuque

Emerging economic sectors : Metallurgy and light metals, hydrogen, energy, environment


Economy and employment

Mauricie’s economy was built around natural resource exploitation and processing. In the past and today, hydroelectricity, pulp and paper, forestry and agriculture play a key role in the region’s economic activity.

In Mauricie, a large number of specialized small and medium enterprises (SMEs) offer most manufacturing jobs. While companies related to natural resource exploitation, processing or marketing predominate, the economy is becoming increasingly diversified. The region also features a significant concentration of research and development and technology transfer centres.

Value-added papers and associated technologies, metal processing technologies, hydrogen and electrotechnologies, industrial bioprocesses and furniture are a growing presence in Mauricie’s economy. Recreational tourism is also a rapidly expanding sector. A land of nature, adventure, culture and history, Mauricie is notable for its diverse tourism options.

To learn more

Want to learn more?
Immigration, Diversité et Inclusion Québec Site map
  |  
Policy on privacy
  |  
Declaration of services to the public
© Gouvernement du Québec, 2018

Un bel Avenir pour vous au Québec Un bel Avenir pour vous au Québec

Mauricie

Mauricie
Explorer d'autres régions

Reconnue pour être « le cœur du Québec », la région de la Mauricie est située à mi-chemin entre Montréal, la métropole, et Québec, la capitale nationale. La Mauricie est constituée de vastes espaces et d’innombrables étendues d’eau (17 000 lacs) qui occupent une place importante dans le développement économique et récréotouristique de la région.

Photographie : Tourisme Mauricie, Concours Focus sur la Mauricie 2009 - Andrea Bertolo, 30 rue Radisson

Mauricie

Population : 269 289 habitants

Superficie : 35 448 km²

Villes : Trois-Rivières, Shawinigan, La Tuque

Secteurs économiques émergents : Métallurgie et métaux légers, hydrogène, énergie, environnement


Économie et emploi

L’économie de la Mauricie s’est bâtie autour de l’exploitation et de la transformation des ressources naturelles. Historiquement, et aujourd’hui encore, l’hydroélectricité, les pâtes et papier ainsi que l’exploitation forestière et agricole occupent une large part de l’activité économique de la région.

En Mauricie, bon nombre des petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) spécialisées fournissent la plupart des emplois manufacturiers. Les entreprises liées à l’exploitation, à la transformation ou à la mise en valeur des ressources naturelles occupent toujours une place prépondérante, mais l’économie se diversifie de plus en plus. La région compte également une importante concentration de centres de recherche et développement et de transferts technologiques.

Les papiers à valeur ajoutée et technologies associées, les technologies de transformation des métaux, l’hydrogène et les électrotechnologies, les bioprocédés industriels et le meuble sont les secteurs appelés à jouer un rôle de plus en plus important dans l’économie mauricienne. Le domaine du récréotourisme connaît aussi un essor important. Territoire de nature, d’aventure, de culture et d’histoire, la Mauricie se démarque grâce à une offre touristique diversifiée.

Pour en savoir plus

Envie d'en savoir plus?