A bright future for you in Québec A bright future for you in Québec

Montérégie

Montérégie
Explore other regions

Montérégie features a juxtaposition of urban and rural settings that are popular with those who enjoy the great outdoors as well as those in search of a burgeoning economic environment. It has an advantageous geographic location, on the south shore of the St. Lawrence River, between the Montréal metropolitan area and the United States border. The region is home to a concentration of high-tech industries, particularly in the aerospace and ground transportation sector.

Montérégie

Population : 1 550 534 inhabitants

Area : 11 112 km²

Cities : Longueuil, Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Saint-Hyacinthe

Emerging economic sectors : Biofood, biotechnology, high-tech transportation and logistics equipment, micro and nanotechnologies for high-tech electronics, ferrous metal processing


Economy and employment

The Montérégie region enjoys an enviably dynamic economy, combining a low unemployment rate with strong job growth. The priority sectors of development in Montérégie are the manufacturing industry, biofood, research, the environment, tourism and transportation.

The territory’s industrial fabric is strengthened by the presence of businesses that are global leaders in their sector, particularly in aerospace and ground transportation, agrifood, and transportation and distribution logistics.

In addition to playing a leading role in industrial research and development in Québec, Montérégie also boasts a major research and high-tech park that brings together one of the world’s largest concentrations of researchers in the areas of energy and metals.

To learn more

Want to learn more?
Immigration, Diversité et Inclusion Québec Site map
  |  
Policy on privacy
  |  
Declaration of services to the public
© Gouvernement du Québec, 2018

Un bel Avenir pour vous au Québec Un bel Avenir pour vous au Québec

Montérégie

Montérégie
Explorer d'autres régions

La Montérégie se caractérise par une juxtaposition de milieux urbains et ruraux qui plaît autant aux adeptes des grands espaces qu’aux personnes à la recherche d’un milieu économique en pleine effervescence. Elle bénéficie d’une situation géographique avantageuse, étant située sur la rive sud du fleuve Saint-Laurent, entre la région métropolitaine de Montréal et la frontière des États-Unis. La région concentre un grand nombre d’industries de haute technologie, notamment dans le secteur du transport aérospatial et terrestre.

Montérégie

Population : 1 550 534 habitants

Superficie : 11 112 km²

Villes : Longueuil, Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Saint-Hyacinthe

Secteurs économiques émergents : Bioalimentaire, biotechnologie, technologies avancées de matériel de transport et logistique, micro et nanotechnologies pour l'électronique de pointe, transformation des métaux ferreux


Économie et emploi

La région de la Montérégie possède un dynamisme économique fort enviable, alliant un faible taux de chômage et un fort taux de croissance sur le plan de l’emploi. Les secteurs prioritaires de développement en Montérégie sont l’industrie manufacturière, le bioalimentaire, la recherche, l’environnement, le tourisme et le transport.

Le tissu industriel du territoire est renforcé par la présence d'entreprises qui sont des chefs de file mondiaux dans leur secteur, notamment en transport aérospatial et terrestre, en agroalimentaire et en logistique du transport et distribution.

En plus de jouer un rôle prépondérant dans les domaines de la recherche et du développement industriel au Québec, la Montérégie s’enorgueillit d’un important parc de recherche et de haute technologie regroupant l’une des plus grandes concentrations mondiales de chercheurs dans les domaines de l’énergie et des métaux.

Pour en savoir plus

Envie d'en savoir plus?