A bright future for you in Québec A bright future for you in Québec

Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean

Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean
Explore other regions

The vast territory of Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean stretches from north of Lac Saint-Jean to the mouth of the famous Saguenay fjord. This unique region boasts a diversified and prosperous economy and offers all the comforts of the city alongside the many pleasures of nature.

Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean

Population : 276 509 inhabitants

Area : 95 761 km²

Cities : Saguenay, Alma, Roberval

Emerging economic sectors : Aluminum, hydroelectricity, agrifood, metals and metallurgy, adventure tourism and ecotourism


Economy and employment

The region’s industries, always on the lookout for new technologies, fully benefit from a network of outstanding educational and research institutions and a dynamic socioeconomic environment. First developed on the basis of its abundant forests, Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean’s economy has been transformed by its immense hydroelectric potential, which has made it possible to operate aluminum smelters, which produce 35% of Canada’s aluminum.

Other sectors contribute to the growth of the region, most notably the agrifood industry, with its dairy and grain production, dairy and meat processing and blueberry growing and processing; the manufacturing sector, with its metal processing, metallurgy and wood processing; and the adventure tourism and ecotourism sector.

Want to learn more?
Immigration, Diversité et Inclusion Québec Site map
  |  
Policy on privacy
  |  
Declaration of services to the public
© Gouvernement du Québec, 2018

Un bel Avenir pour vous au Québec Un bel Avenir pour vous au Québec

Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean

Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean
Explorer d'autres régions

Le Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean est un vaste territoire qui s’étend du nord du lac Saint-Jean jusqu’à l’embouchure du célèbre fjord de la rivière Saguenay. Vous trouverez dans cette région unique une économie diversifiée et prospère ainsi que toutes les commodités de la ville aussi bien que les petits et grands bonheurs liés à la nature.

Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean

Population : 276 509 habitants

Superficie : 95 761 km²

Villes : Saguenay, Alma, Roberval

Secteurs économiques émergents : Aluminium, hydroélectricité, agroalimentaire, métaux et métallurgie, tourisme d’aventure et écotourisme


Économie et emploi

Les industries de la région, constamment à l’affût de nouvelles technologies, savent profiter d’un réseau d’établissements d’enseignement et de recherche de haut niveau et d’un environnement socioéconomique dynamique. D’abord développé pour la richesse de ses forêts, le Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean a vu son économie transformée par son immense potentiel hydroélectrique. Il permet d’exploiter ses importantes alumineries qui génèrent 35 % de la production canadienne d’aluminium.

D’autres secteurs contribuent à l’essor de la région, notamment l’agroalimentaire – représenté par les productions laitières et céréalières, la transformation des produits laitiers et des viandes ainsi que la culture et la transformation du bleuet -, le secteur manufacturier – transformation de métaux, métallurgie et transformation du bois -, ainsi que le secteur du tourisme d’aventure et de l’écotourisme.

Envie d'en savoir plus?